Board of Supervisors Minutes November 14, 2022

The Tama County Board of Supervisors met at 8:30 a.m. November 14, 2022. Present: 1st District Supervisor, Larry Vest; 2nd District Supervisor, Bill Faircloth and 3rd District Supervisor, Dan Anderson.

8:30 – 9:00 Employee/Department Head Time

9:00-9:30 Public Comment Time The Pledge of Allegiance was recited.

Present: Supervisors Vest, Faircloth, Anderson. Tama County Auditor Laura Kopsa, several members of the Tama County Against Wind Turbines Coalition. Deputy Sheriff Randall was also present. Laura Wilson spoke on behalf of Tama County Against Turbines. She stated they were happy with the election results especially going to five supervisor districts. There were questions about the process and if the public could have some input. Auditor Kopsa explained the two year process. The group would like to see current Tama County Boards and Committees posted on the County website along with the members and terms. They would like all openings on these boards and committees advertised also. There was discussion of the fear of Tama County becoming an industrial county and losing its agricultural origins and history. A moratorium was brought up again and it was discussed that that could cause a lawsuit. Possibly larger than \$15 million. There was also discussion about the Zoning Board's and Supervisors purpose in protecting agriculture. The detailed notes are available in the County Auditor's office.

Motion by Faircloth, seconded by Vest to approve the minutes of the November 7th regular meeting. All voted aye. Motion carried

The Board met with Lyle Brehm, Tama County Engineer, to get a road projects report.

Motion by Faircloth, seconded by Vest to appoint Kendall Jordan, Toledo, to the Compensation Board as the Auditor's Representative due to the resignation of her current one. This request was made by Laura Kopsa, Auditor. All voted aye. Motion carried.

Motion by Vest, seconded by Faircloth to approve the claims for payment as presented. All voted aye. Motion carried.

At 9:45, Chairman Anderson recessed the meeting until 10:30 am for the scheduled canvas of the General Election.

The Board of Supervisors met at 10:30 to canvas the General Election. Present: 1st District Supervisor, Larry Vest; 2nd District Supervisor, Bill Faircloth and 3rd District Supervisor, Dan Anderson. Also Auditor Laura Kopsa and Election Administrator Karen Rohrs.

The Board verified the results and checked the tally tapes from all of the voting precincts. Motion by Faircloth, seconded by Vest to approve the following resolution: RESOLUTION 11-14-2022A

CERTIFICATION (CANVASS) OF TAMA COUNTY ELECTION RESULTS, GENERAL ELECTION

WHEREAS, the GENERAL ELECTION was held as prescribed by law on November 8, 2022, and WHEREAS, the Board of Supervisors and ex-officio Board of Canvassers have canvassed the vote of said elections in accordance with §50.24 of the Code of Iowa, now therefore BE IT HEREBY RESOLVED that we, the undersigned members of the Board of Supervisors and ex-officio Board of Canvassers of Tama County, Iowa, do hereby certify the following TURNOUT REPORT and RESULTS in the GENERAL ELECTION, held November 8, 2022, and that no obvious clerical errors were identified during the canvass. Five thousand three hundred forty-nine (5,349) people voted at the polls on election day. One thousand three hundred eighteen (1,318) absentee ballots were accepted for counting. One (1) provisional ballot was accepted. A total of six thousand six hundred sixty-seven (6,667) people voted. All races are for a term of four (4) years unless otherwise noted. CANDIDATES ELECTED BY THE VOTERS OF THE RESPECTIVE CITIES AND TOWNSHIPS LOCATED WHOLLY WITHIN TAMA COUNTY: County Supervisor District 1: Curt Hilmer County Treasurer: Amanda Kriegel County Recorder: Amelia Kemper County Attorney: Brent Heeren Buckingham Township Trustee: Richard Ruzicka Buckingham Township Clerk: Adam Clapp* Carlton Township Trustee: Allen Aldrich Carlton Township Clerk: Jill Aldrich Carroll Township Trustee: Mark Pokorny Carroll Township Clerk: Sheryl Jesina Clark Township Trustee: Dale Degner Clark Township Clerk: Phillip McKenna Columbia Township Trustee: Corey Timm Columbia Township Clerk: Lloyd Chyma Jr. Crystal Township Trustee: Dave Mauderer Crystal Township Clerk: Penny Peters Geneseo Township Trustee: Matthew Coverdale Geneseo Township Clerk: Angela Coverdale Grant Township Trustee: Vincent Moye Grant Township Clerk: Nancy Calderwood Highland Township Trustee: John Mark Gilliland Highland Township Clerk: Nancy Gilliland Howard Township Trustee: Jim Hlas Howard Township Clerk: David Chizek Indian Village Township Trustee: James C. Lacina* Indian Village Township Clerk: Brian Hempy Lincoln Township Trustee: Darryl Widmayer Lincoln Township Clerk: Debra Wentzien Oneida Township Trustee: Marvin Dostal Oneida Township Clerk: Chris Behrens Otter Creek Township Trustee: James H. Smith Otter Creek Township Clerk: Brenda L. Doyle

Perry Township Trustee: Pat McLean Perry Township Clerk: Mike Reuman Richland Township Trustee: Randy J. Upah Richland Township Clerk: Patrick Henry Salt Creek Township Trustee: Jim Poduska Salt Creek Township Clerk: Jamie Kupka Spring Creek Township Trustee: Brett T. Miller Spring Creek Township Clerk: Paul Koester Tama Township Trustee: Scott Bolen Tama Township Clerk: Judy Welch Toledo Township Trustee: Sam J. Ferriss Toledo Township Clerk: Brock Rohrs York Township Trustee: Steve Kesl York Township Clerk: Lorie Kesl Soil & Water Conservation District Commissioners: Jack C. Boyer, Linn R. Snell Soil & Water Conservation District Commissioner, To Fill Vacancy (for the residue of the term ending Dec. 2024): Jan Wobeter Co. Agricultural Extension Council Members: Jackie Skala, Donald Linnenbrink, Judy Morrison, Clinton Murty, Sandy Supianoski **write-in winner* PUBLIC MEASURE ADOPTED BY VOTERS OF TAMA COUNTY: Public Measure TX (The number of Tama County Supervisors shall be increased from three members to five members) Roll Call Vote: Vest, ave. Faircloth, ave. Anderson, ave. Resolution passed and adopted this 14th day of November 2022. Dan Anderson, Chairman, Board of Supervisors.

Chairman Anderson adjourned the meeting at 12:20 p.m.