Board of Supervisors Minutes November 14, 2023

The Tama County Board of Supervisors met at 8:30 a.m. November 14, 2023 to do the 1st Tier Canvass of the 2023 City/School Election help on November 7, 2023. Present: 1st District Supervisor, Curt Hilmer; 2nd District Supervisor, Bill Faircloth and 3rd District Supervisor, Dan Anderson.

The Board verified the results and checked the tally tapes from all of the voting precincts. Motion by Hilmer, seconded by Anderson to approve the following resolution:

RESOLUTION 11-14-2023A

CERTIFICATION (CANVASS) OF TAMA COUNTY ELECTION RESULTS, COMBINED CITY-SCHOOL ELECTION

WHEREAS, the CITY-SCHOOL ELECTION was held as prescribed by law on November 7, 2023, and

WHEREAS, the Board of Supervisors and ex-officio Board of Canvassers have canvassed the vote of said elections in accordance with §50.24 of the *Code of Iowa*, now therefore

BE IT HEREBY RESOLVED that we, the undersigned members of the Board of Supervisors and ex-officio Board of Canvassers of Tama County, Iowa, do hereby certify the following TURNOUT REPORT and RESULTS in the CITY-SCHOOL ELECTION, held November 7, 2023, and that no obvious clerical errors were identified during the canvass.

One thousand eight hundred twenty-eight (1,828) people voted at the polls on election day.

Five hundred ten (510) absentee ballots were accepted for counting.

One (1) absentee ballot was rejected.

A total of two thousand three hundred thirty-eight (2,338) people voted.

All races are for a term of four (4) years unless otherwise noted.

CANDIDATES ELECTED BY THE VOTERS OF THE RESPECTIVE CITIES LOCATED WHOLLY WITHIN TAMA COUNTY:

Chelsea Council At Large: Steve Van De Walle, Dixie Forcht, Aaron Balvin

Clutier Mayor (two-year term): Linda Pearson*

Clutier Council At Large (two-year term): Katherine Seye*, Dianna Cowan*, Carley Bolhuis*, Sue

Kupka*, Emma Winkelpleck* Dysart Mayor: Timothy Glenn

Dysart Council At Large: Stacey Dabney, Mary Wankowicz

Elberon Mayor (two-year term): Scott Pippert

Elberon Council At Large: Donald Curry, Nancy K. Braasch

Garwin Mayor (two-year term): Matthew Deam

Garwin Council At Large: Levio Simcox, Darcy McCubbin

Garwin Council At Large, To Fill Vacancy (for the residue of the term ending Dec. 2025): Rick

Raymond*

Gladbrook Mayor (two-year term): Trudi Scott

Gladbrook Council At Large: Wayne Nekola, Scott Schmidt

Lincoln Mayor (two-year term): H. Trent Wentzien

Lincoln Council At Large (two-year term): Dale H. Meyer, Jr., Michelle Clark, John Eilers, Gaylen

Brandt, John Eden

Montour Mayor: Tony Smith

Montour Council At Large: Charles Bidwell, Jeff Hermanstorfer

Montour Council At Large, To Fill Vacancy (for the residue of the term ending Dec. 2025): Ronald

Green

Tama Mayor: Brian Hanus

Tama Council At Large: Danny Robinson, Jr., Larry Thomas, Michelle Jimenez*

Tama Council At Large, To Fill Vacancy (for the residue of the term ending Dec. 2025): Kristy

Eisentrager

Toledo Mayor (two-year term): Brian Sokol Toledo Council At Large: Steve Vesely, Joe Boll Traer Mayor (two-year term): Peter Armstrong Holden

Traer Council At Large: Patrisha Kennedy, Brad E. Rund, Carri Holst

Vining Mayor (two-year term): Jeff Vore*

Vining Council At Large (two-year term): Shaye Betz*, Jim Griggs*, Daryl Bazal*, Fred Vore*,

Janice Bazal*
*write-in winner

CANDIDATES ELECTED BY THE VOTERS OF THE RESPECTIVE SCHOOL DISTRICTS LOCATED WHOLLY WITHIN TAMA COUNTY:

North Tama Director District 5: Jenny Sniffin North Tama Director District 6: Doug Dvorak North Tama Director District 7: David Boldt

PUBLIC MEASURES ADOPTED BY VOTERS OF THE RESPECTIVE JURISDICTION:

Public Measure TV (North Tama School District to be authorized to contract indebtedness and issue General Obligation Bonds)

Public Measure TZ (North Tama School District to levy annually a tax exceeding Two Dollars and Seventy Cents (\$2.70))

DATED THIS 14th DAY OF NOVEMBER, 2023.

Roll call vote: Hilmer, aye. Faircloth, aye. Anderson, aye. Motion carried. Resolution passed and adopted this 14th day of November, 2023. Bill Faircloth, Chairman, Board of Supervisors. Laura Kopsa, County Auditor.

Chairman Faircloth adjourned the meeting at 9:04 a.m.