



Joint meeting minutes of the Tama County 911 Service Board and Tama County Emergency Management Commission

The Tama County 911 Service Executive Board and Tama County Emergency Management Board joint meeting was called to order to order at 6:30 PM on August 13, 2024, by 911 Chair Van Egmond (Dysart).

Members present: (911) Joe Boll (Toledo), Billie Van Egmond (Dysart), Dennis Kucera (Sheriff), Tyler Sell (Traer), Brian Hanus (Tama), Alicia Lidtke – via Teams (Elberon), Matt Deam (Garwin), Lee Simcox (Garwin Alt.), Trudi Scott (Gladbrook), Brian Staker (Montour), Jason Bina (Tama), Brian Hanus (Tama Alt.), Joe Boll (Toledo), Shaun Kennedy (Traer Alt.), Mary Wankowicz – via Teams (Emergency Management)

(EMA) Dennis Kucera (Sheriff), Mary Wankowicz – via Teams (Dysart), Brian Sokol, Matt Deam – via Teams (Garwin), Lee Simcox (Garwin Alt.), Trudi Scott – via Teams (Gladbrook), Brian Hanus (Tama), Joe Boll (Toledo Alt.)

Others in attendance: Glenn Thorne, Greg Westwater (Amateur Radio)

Motion by Simcox to approve the agenda with the addition of approving RSF's for EMA and second by Boll to approve the agenda. Motion Carried

Moton by Hanus, second by Sell to approve meeting minutes from the April 2024 meeting, all aye, motion carried.

Motion by Tama, second by Toledo to approve claims of both 911 and EMA. All ayes, motion carried.

Old Business:

Communication Center / EOC: Ryan and Jeremy presented in the packet, RFP's provided by Carl A Nelson and Company and Samuel Group. Van Egmond advised the group that the Executive Committee of both EMA and 911 met prior to tonight's meeting and had a discussion about the RFP's received. It was the consensus of both groups to recommend Carl A Nelson's RFP as the proposal came in at a lower price (\$25,500) and a shorter completion time (6-8 weeks). Jeremy let the group know that he has reached out to Washinton County as Carl A Nelson built their Comm Center / EOC recently but has not heard anything back. There was a brief discussion about the RFP's submitted. Simcox made a motion to accept the RFP from Carl A Nelson conditionally and allow the building committee to interview them and make the final decision on accepting the RFP. A second was made by Staker. All members present for EMA and 911 voted Aye, motion carried. The building committee will be made up of member: Lee Simcox, Tyler Sell, Ryan, Jeremy, and a member of Dispatch. Jeremy will reach out to Carl A Nelson.





New business:

911 Service Board Election of Officers – As per the bylaws, election of officers will be done on the even years in July. Since the July meeting was postponed until this evening, elections were held. Bina made a motion to keep the officers the same. Simcox seconded the motion. All voted Aye, motion carried.

EMA approval of ESF's and RSF's – Ryan presented ESF – 2, 5, 10, 15 and the Basic Plan for approval. Also present was the basic recovery plan for RSF's being approved. Ryan suggested that we wait until the end of the week to have them signed, to give everyone a chance to review them. These are on an annual rotation of being updated with the exception of ESF 10 as that is updated on an annual basis. Ryan will get with the Chair and have them sign the approval so that he can get it into the State. All were in favor of this.

EMA election of officers – Ryan wanted to vote on new officers with the Sheriff's term ending with only one meeting left before the end of the calendar year. Sheriff nominates Mary Wankowicz to be Chair of the EMA Commission, Mary nominated Carri Holst as Chair. Carri Holst was elected the Chair of the EMA Commission. Sheriff nominated Mary Wankowicz as Vice-Chair of the commission. Sokol second the motion. All voted Aye, motion carried. Carri Holst Chair and Mary Wankowicz

Next regular meeting will be October 8, 2024, at 6:30pm.

Motion by Hanus, seconded by Simcox to adjourn the meeting at 1852. Motion carried.

Respectfully submitted

Jeremy Cremeans
Tama County 911 Director

Ryan Goodenbour
Tama County Emergency Management Coordinator