About Tama County, Iowa

Established in 1843, Tama County is named after the Meskwaki Native Americans' early 1800s chief, Taimah.

Mission Statement

The mission of Tama County Government is to provide outstanding public service, be fiscally responsible to taxpayers, and to work with the cooperation of the community and other government agencies to develop community pride. Make Tama County the premier place to live with our growing economy and outstanding rural living. Having a safe, harmonious work environment for our employees to better serve the public.

Vision Statement

Continue to grow our economy, enhance rural life and have a strong sense of community pride.


Tama County is home to the Meskwaki Nation and 13 cities: ChelseaClutierDysart, ElberonGarwinGladbrookLe GrandLincolnMontourTamaToledoTraer, and Vining.

About Our Communities  Community Schools


The County is administered by a five-member Board of Supervisors who are elected for four-year terms. Other elected officials include the AttorneyAuditorRecorderSheriff, and Treasurer.

County Boards & Commissions  Township Information

Stay Connected

Sign up to receive notifications when board meetings and agendas are posted, job openings are announced, and more.

Customize Your Notifications
Tama County logo (white) Contact Us Department Hours Holidays